Subject Leader: Mrs parker & Mrs Booth

‘Though it is the smallest of all seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of all garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds come and perch in its branches.’

Matthew 13 vs.31-32

Our entire curriculum, including PSHE, is underpinned by the ‘Parable of the Mustard Seed’ and summarised by our motto:

Together may we give our children: roots to grow and wings to fly. 


At Trinity Academy Eppleby Forcett and Middleton Tyas, it is our intent to provide a broad and balanced curriculum that aims to assist all children and young people to stay healthy, safe and be prepared for life in modern Britain. The PSHE and RSE curriculum allows us to support our students through their physical, emotional and moral development. Helping them to better understand and respect themselves and others, and to build and sustain healthy relationships. Gaining these valuable skills, pupils are better equipped to achieve their academic potential, and become caring, responsible and confident citizens.


Jigsaw is a comprehensive and completely original PSHE Education programme for the whole primary school from Reception through to Year 6. It was launched in July 2013 and hundreds of schools across the UK are using it.

Jigsaw has two aims for all children:

  • To build their capacity for learning
  • To equip them for life

Jigsaw brings together PSHE Education, emotional literacy, mindfulness, social skills and spiritual development. A variety of teaching strategies are used and are mindful of each child’s preferred learning style. Jigsaw is designed as a whole school approach, with all year groups working on the same theme (Puzzle)

The Puzzles and what children learn:

Being Me In My World covers a wide range of topics, including a sense of belonging, welcoming others and being part of a school community, a wider community, and a global community; it also looks at children’s rights and responsibilities, working and socialising with others, and pupil voice.

Celebrating Difference focuses on similarities and differences and teaches about diversity, such as disability, racism, power, friendships, and conflict; children learn to accept everyone’s right to ‘difference’, and most year groups explore the concept of ‘normal’; bullying – what it is and what it isn’t, including cyber bullying –this is an important aspect of this Puzzle.

Dreams and Goals aims to help children think about their hopes and dreams, their goals for success, what personal strengths are, and how to overcome challenges, via team work skills and tasks. There is also a focus on enterprise and fundraising. Children learn about experiencing and managing feelings of pride, ambition, disappointment, success; and they get to share their aspirations, the dreams and goals of others in different cultures/countries, and their dreams for the world.

Healthy Me covers two main areas of health: Emotional health (relaxation, being safe, friendships, mental health skills, body image, relationships with food, managing stress) and Physical health (eating a balanced diet, physical activity, rest and relaxation, keeping clean, drugs and alcohol, being safe, first aid) in order for children to learn that health is a very broad topic.

Relationships has a wide focus, looking at diverse topics such as families, friendships, pets and animals, and love and loss. A vital part of this Puzzle is about safeguarding and keeping children safe; this links to cyber safety and social networking, as well as attraction and assertiveness; children learn how to deal with conflict, their own strengths and self-esteem. They have the chance to explore roles and responsibilities in families, and look at stereotypes. All Jigsaw lessons are delivered in an age and stage appropriate way so that they meet children’s needs.

Changing Me deals with change of many types, from growing from young to old, becoming a teenager, assertiveness, self-respect and safeguarding. Self and body image, puberty, attraction and accepting change are diverse subjects for children to explore. Each year group thinks about looking ahead, moving year groups or the transition to secondary school. Life cycles and how babies are made and grow are treated sensitively and are designed to meet children’s needs. All year groups learn about how people and bodies change. This Puzzle links with the Science curriculum when teaching children about life cycles, babies and puberty.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED) is a prime area in the Early Years Foundation Stage and is crucial for children to lead healthy and happy lives as well as being fundamental to cognitive development.  Intertwined with daily routines, children are supported to manage emotions, manage their personal needs independently and learn how to make good friendships. Children in Reception also enjoy and engage in weekly ‘Jigsaw’ lessons.

At Trinity Academy, PSHE and RSE objectives are taught in a variety of ways: they are represented in our school ethos and holistic approach to daily life in school; taught through discrete subject lessons; discussed within ‘circle time’; and explored during Collective Worship and other curriculum subjects where appropriate. We believe that children need to feel safe and happy in order to learn and achieve their potential, and our PSHE and RSE curriculum enhances these safe practices throughout our school life.

Finally, we encourage all pupils to contribute positively to school life and the wider community in many ways: Becoming ‘Play Leaders’; joining the School Council; taking part in fundraising events; and helping to support local nominated charities and food banks.

Additional Information

For more information regarding our PSHE curriculum (including our curriculum map and key procedures), please click on the ‘Useful Documents’ links below.

Similarly, under ‘Useful Links’, you can find supplementary resources and other useful websites.


Useful Documents

PSHE Curriculum Map

PSHE Overview

PSHE Policy (Including RSE)


Useful Links


The THRIVE Approach